Thursday, December 30, 2010

My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent





Another great addition to the Soul Screamers series! This series just keeps getting better and better if that is even possible. Rachel Vincent is Is a force to be reckoned with. She takes her Soul Screamers to a whole new level.

My Soul to Steal picks up a few weeks after My Soul to Keep leaves off. In this book Nash and Kaylee are on a break because of Nash's addiction to frost. Kaylee is unable to come to terms that he is doing better and she is not ready to start-up the relationship once again. Now enter Sabine, who just happens to be Nash's ex-girlfriend from two years ago, transfers to their school. I know, I know I was "Oh My God" as well. Sabine is literally Kaylee's worst nightmare and it just so happens Kaylee is number one on her list.

This installment keeps you interested from the first few pages. Honestly, Vincent never brings you a dull moment. I can't help but feel attached to these characters from the beginning of the series. You get a chance to watch them grow and become the persons they were meant to be. In this book Kaylee took the lead. I loved how strong she has become from the previous books. I actually did scream GO KAYLEE when she slapped Sabine but I wont say why. I also admired the fact that she didn't give into the pressures that Sabine was dishing out.

Kaylee is trying to trust Nash. I totally understood the whole trust issue, but sometimes I wanted to yell, " Are you serious? He loves you! Why are you over thinking this?". Nash, well, he is really trying to move past his addiction and to make things right between Kaylee and him. The way he spoke to her, I melted at those certain parts. What really brought me to tears is when Todd had a heart to heart with Kaylee. It must have been so hard, but I understood the confusion and anger on Kaylee's part. I also felt for Todd having to be so bluntly honest but then again that is a part of life.

Not only can Vincent keep your mind wondering, she can also make you see the world she has blessed us with. My Soul to Steal was so much more than what I was expecting. I couldn't put it down if my life depended on it. I needed answers and I needed them now. Vincent doesn't tease she leaves the best cliff hangers for what will hopefully come soon in this wonderful series. If I could read, If I Die, right this minute I would truly be in heaven. I am looking forward to the next installment in this series plus so many more to come by this wonderful author.

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Precious and Fragile Things by Megan Hart



Megan Hart is usually known for her romances, but you wont find that here. Hart brings you on an incredibly intense journey filled with some serious emotions.

At first I really wasn't sure what to think about this book, but as the story progresses I was more and more intrigued. I started asking myself some serious questions that I would never thought to ask myself. What would I do in this situation? Hart opens up a whole new world for me because this could actually happen. It's life. Somewhere in the world this could actually happen.

Gilly Solomon is a stay at home mom with a husband and two kids. Sometimes wishing she could just run away. Although she loves her family her breaking point was coming fast and what she fears is becoming like her mother. While running errands with her two children, a stranger jumps in her car. Gilly isn't so much terrified for herself, but her children. Finally she finds a way to get them out of harms way, but now she is trapped with this stranger.

Todd didn't have an easy life, so that has left him in a broken state. He ends up taking Gilly to the cabin that was left to him by his uncle. Now that they are both isolated in the cabin and not to mention in the middle of a massive snowstorm the real trial between them begins. What does he want? How long will Todd keep her? Questions, questions, questions... that I can't answer because I want you to read this book.

I honestly couldn't put this down. It captures your interest in the very first couple of pages. Although the plot is heartbreaking and totally made me cry at the end, I loved every minute of it. I was actually stunned speechless on this whole story and even how it ended.

Precious and Fragile Things is a very unique and a very thought-provoking story. It will for sure will touch you in a different way. To me this is truly one of her best books and I cant wait to read what others will think about this book. Going outside your comfort zone for reading is never a bad thing, so I would like to thank Megan Hart for helping me move past it. Now I will be looking forward to see if she will writing more thought-provoking books in the future because it was a treat. This will always be a reread for me.

Monday, December 27, 2010

The Heiress (Madison Sisters #2) by Lynsay Sands



The Heiress is intriguingly delicious!

This is the Second book in the Madison Sisters Trilogy and was just as intriguing as the first book “The Countess” which was fabulously funny and sinfully sexy.

First I want to say how much I actually enjoyed this book from the very first page all the way to the very last page. Lynsay Sands doesn't only bring you in a new world that is just captivating, but she insures you will enjoy the ride one page flip at a time.

Suzette Madison is looking for a poor husband, one that she can manage and merry to get her father out of a gambling debt. Attending a ball with her sisters, she meets Daniel Woodward. She thinks that she has found all that she is looking for in him, who just so happens to be a close friend of her sister the Countesses husband. After purposing after the night they meet it is now up to Daniel to the agree to the terms that she is requesting, but the real question is will Daniel say agree?

Daniel doesn’t want the attentions of money seeking woman, so he pretends poverty and Suzette is thrilled. Now Daniel tries to gently tell her the truth all the while trying not to give in to the temptation of Suzette's charms and quick wit.

I loved the fact this book runs parallel in time to The Countess which was not really new for me, but Sands makes it so enjoyable. It was great seeing what Daniel and Suzette were actually doing in the first book and to find out their was just so much more to their story. It filled in a lot of questions that I was having while Richard and Christiana were trying to make it work between them. You also get another mystery on your hands, Who is out to ruin Daniel and Suzette's relationship?

The writing of the characters were very lovable. Suzette was honestly my favorite. She is feisty, persistent and will go to all ends for the people she cares for. Daniel is handsome, accomplished, and a man of his word. The attraction between them was nail-biting. Are they going to get together? When? I asked the questions and then finally answers. I thought as a couple they were just perfect for each other and they balanced out really well.

I was sad to see it end but then got really excited that soon we get to finally get to the bottom of the story of Lisa. She is a regular in the books, but her point of view of all the events will not only be a surprise, but extremely exciting.

This is a perfectly charming and cute addition to the Madison Sister’s Trilogy. Sands always out does herself in every book she puts out. Truly one of my favorite authors of all time and I cannot wait to read the third addition to this series. I recommend this series to all historical romance fans.

Saturday, December 25, 2010

The Countess is not only funny and intriguing, but it is sinfully sexy!!

When Christiana’s mean, cruel husband Dicky Fairgrave drops suddenly dead of what they assume are natural causes, she and her sisters decide to put him on ice (literally) and go on as if life hasn’t changed except for the better.  The First night of Dicky’s death Christiana decides to go to a ball with her sisters. With Dicky being dead and all you could only imagine their complete utter shock when they see Dicky at the ball.

Richard Fairgrave has just come back from America to confront his twin brother who has stolen his identity as well as married under his name. When Richard meets his “wife” at the ball he finds her to be a little less than he expected. But with some time and whiskey on Christiana’s part, he soon finds that he really wants to keep his “wife”. Now will he have to earn her trust to get to the bottom of her and who murdered his bother.

In my book Lynsay Sands could do no wrong! I have never read a historical romance, but if all the other romances are like this, I have been missing out on so many fabulous books.  I loved the way the story was written and told. The characters are very much likable and enjoyable. The attraction between Richard and Christiana is just phenomenal and they fit perfect together. You also get a good look not only into Christiana's life, but her sisters as well. The story flowed so well I didn't realize I was turning the pages faster and faster wanting to know what was going to happen and who killed Dicky. Then having to slow down because I really didn't want it to come to the end. It kept my attention throughout the whole story and that is a huge plus.

The romance was absolutely outstanding. I couldn't get enough of how deep their emotions ran for each other. Suzette intrigued me so I am really looking forward to reading about her. Lynsay Sands just keeps you wanting more. And more do I want!

Over in all this book was fantastic, it was funny at times which I wasn't really expecting. The book wasn't all romance, it had mystery twist which I loved to pieces. This is truly a must read for not only Lynsay Sands fans, but romance fans in general. I am really looking forward to the next installment, The Heiress which is set to release early 2011.

Friday, December 24, 2010

Double Play by Jill Shalvis

Play Ball!!

This was a great contemporary romance. Since I happen to love Baseball myself, I had to read this book. Come to find out I would not be disappointed. Not only do you get the romance you get a view inside the baseball season.

Pace Martin does not need any distractions while in season. He's the star pitcher for the Santa Barbara Pacific Heat's baseball team. Fighting an injury that could end his career and trying to pitch the Heat to the World Series. With lots of pressure on him already, he doesn't need Holly Hutchinson interfering in his life. Holly Hutchinson is not only good at finding secrets, but she is asked to write about them. Attraction runs deep with the two and trying to fight it because both have jobs to do and don't want romance to get in the way. When tension runs high and trust issues come into play, you have to wonder if they are a match made in heaven.

Even before this book I wanted my own baseball player (*bats eyes at Derek Jeter*), but then after reading this I am wondering where to find one. I liked the fact that this book wasn't predictable. You never new when they were going to take things to the next level. Laughing out loud is a great quality in this book, although my husband kept looking at me like I lost my mind, I truly enjoyed this. It was a very fun read.

I loved Pace and the whole nice guy thing he had going on. The only thing that bothered me was my feelings for Holly in the beginning while she was speaking to her boss, but she didn't listen to him and kept trying to find out what the Heat was hiding. Way to go Holly! Holly pretty much expects everyone around her to hide things or lie, but she doesn't come off as completely cynical or hard. On the contrary, I found her tough choices when it comes to writing her articles, the secrets, and her relationship with Pace very real. I also loved that fact that she didn't do it to advance in her writing career. Pace being a private man whose life revolves around baseball and his career wasn't the jerk I would have been picturing. He could have been a self-centered athlete, but instead he is a giving, kind man and lets not forget hot!

The chemistry is wow. Shalvis can write some steamy scenes and she certainly did not disappoint on those in Double Heat. Even with just the kissing scenes can fog up any mirror. I loved the sexual tension between Holly and Pace, in fact so much build up that they don’t even get together until you read half the book but it is well worth the wait. Then when they finally together, WOW!!! I also fell in love with a few of the secondary characters and crossing fingers some more book will be written about them.

This is a great year around read and a great book for any baseball fans. Well, actually for anyone who just loves romance.

Slow Heat by Jill Shalvis

Batter up!!

This is the second book in the series and I loved the first book, Double Play, and I was very happy to discover this one is not only just as good, but better.

Samantha McNead is a PR rep who works for a Major League Baseball team, the Santa Barbara Heat. Not only was Sam born into baseball, but she loves her job and is good at it. Wade O'Riley is the team's catcher. He's got a bit of a reputation as a playboy, and there's been a scandal involving a woman with a false claim that she's pregnant with his child. The Heat decide Wade needs some good PR for once and Sam is just the woman for the job. She is to pose as his girlfriend for a month. What many people don't know that one drunken night they slept together. Now with all the pretending, will the two end up involved?

I loved this story!! I fell for Wade from the first book. You could see their was a spark but both were so willing to leave it alone. Wade is a easy-going,  down-to-earth, and giving man despite his fame. Sam, however, was his opposite. She tended to be a little bit on uptight side of things. All in all she loved her job and cared about all the players. I agreed on her reasons to try to fight the relationship with Wade, but Wade would not give up and I loved him more for that. *squee* I enjoyed Sam and Wade's interaction together. They had a lot of sexual tension, humor and the emotions they experienced. Of course again, Jill Shalvis can bring the laugh out loud humor.

There were a few surprises that were thrown into the book and I loved that. It never had a dull moment. The only thing I felt surprises never really got wrapped up. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to assume everyone lived happily ever after (but I did that anyway). I also was interested in some of the other players and wondering if they will also have a book.

I loved this book more than the first only because I love Wade. I mean who wouldn't want a sexy former player that turns into a one woman man. Not only that but the way he was with her was sweet. I also found myself saying "awwww" through story. I love stories with happy endings and Jill Shalvis can deliver them.

Slow Heat was a fun, sexy and kept me turning the pages, I can't recommend this enough.  I really enjoyed it to the very last page. *sigh* Jill Shalvis is always on my to read list.

Holiday Sparks by Shannon Stacey

This is my first Shannon Stacey story and I loved it! It was perfect for getting me into the holiday season.

Chloe Burke returned to the small town in Maine where she grew up to house sit while her parents are on a cruise. After having some electrical problems, she contacts a local electrician, who happens to be a hunky former classmate she couldn’t remember. Scott Quinn had always had a crush on Chloe in school, but back then he wasn’t much to look at, and she was one of the cool kids. Chloe decides to pay him to rewire her parents’ house as a Christmas gift to them. The constant interaction between the two results in an agreement for a no strings fling that would end when Scott finishes the job in three weeks and Chloe’s parents return home to spend Christmas with her.

The gift they ended up giving each other had me saying "awwww". These two were really just too cute. I was dying for them to finally get together. After the # weeks were up I actually asked out loud, "What will they do?" but of course Shannon Stacey had a plan. Even though Scott preferred his small town life and Chloe preferred her life in Boston, they were willing to do whatever it took to make it work.

The passion they feel for each other is phenomenal. Both Chloe and Scott are lovable characters, and so many amusing parts that had me grinning. The novella was good I wished it was longer. Chloe and Scott are very lovable characters. I loved that they were normal people and reading about their love story made me all giddy inside. I mean 10 years having a crush and then finally getting the girl. Who could ask for anything more enjoyable. The sparks between them made every page of the book a real pleasure to enjoy.

The end so romantic so of course I recommend this book to all those who love Holiday themed stories.  :-)

Atlantis Unleashed by Alyssa Day

So far this is my favorite book in the series. It continues on the bigger story of overcoming the vampire threat on humanity and finding out how to raise Atlantis. This starts with the story of Lord Justice, in the previous book he was taken away by Anubisa for an eternity of torture.

In the previous book we came to find out that Justice's big secret was he is also a Prince of Atlantis which makes him Conlan and Ven's brother. Dr. Keely McDermott is an archaeologist from Ohio, who has a strange connection to a wooden fish carving, and has an extraordinary gift. Justice is from Atlantis, who's also part Nemeid, which mean he has the mind of two souls. Justice and the other warriors fight vampires who want to take over the world. Keely is sent to Atlantis to find another stone to unleash Atlantis. Keely and Justice are attracted to each other from the beginning but they tend to butt heads. While looking for the stone they end realizing their destiny.

From the beginning the story it had me drawn to both Keely and Justice with such strong emotions that I knew I was going to love this story to pieces. With every page I flipped I went deeper into the world that Alyssa Day created. This is a fantastic new paranormal series that you're going to love.
The romance was good, but the heat and passion between Keely were great. This is for sure one of my favorite series.

Day brings out the alpha in Justice but he is still very much aware of his weaknesses and flaws. He is dominant and he has a great sense of humor. I loved the fact that Keely was almost just as protective as Justice was for her. It had so many "awwww" parts, I couldn't keep myself from giggling like a little girl.

Keely had a dry sense of humor that I couldn't stop myself from laughing. She was also strong, determined, and had so much courage she couldn't contain it. The bantering between the warriors is another one of my favorite parts. Justice, is well yum! And he has blue hair! *winks* I love it! I loved the Justice cared for her and tried to hold on to what sanity he had left just for her. It was so touching and very intense.

You get a chance to fall in love with the secondary characters. I am truly excited to read more of this series and get a chance to read about the other Warriors of Poseidon. The story keeps building and building you just fall right into step as if your right along with them and that was a total plus for me.

Alyssa Day really makes her sex scenes not only count, but makes them sizzling. I was waiting for them to confront Anubisa, but that didn't happen. Just maybe they will later on in the series.; *crosses fingers* As the series moves forward the plot get deeper and clearer. I think I might have an idea where this is going and I am looking forward to following the rest of the series.

Atlantis Unleashed not only has love and sacrifice, but darkness and light. It is a fun ride and I am looking forward to Atlantis Unmasked.

Atlantis Unmasked by Alyssa Day


I had a little trouble getting into this book, but I didn't want to move past it and go to the next because this is a series that should be read in order to paint the bigger picture. As the story progressed I became more involved so I was very happy. *smiles*

Alexios is an Atlantean warrior, one of several that help protect Prince Conlan. He was a prisoner of the vampire goddess Anubisa for two years. Alexios bares the scares from his torture. The left side of his face is horribly disfigured while the right side is still beautiful. Alexios is usually considered the voice of reason. He's the one that can be counted on in a crisis and can always keep a cool head. He takes up celibacy as a way to cleanse his soul, but that difficult to uphold when he begins to have strong feelings for Grace.

Grace lost her brother after a vampire attack and decided to try to do whatever should could do to stop the vampires from gaining power. She does have an amazing ability when using the bow. This comes from her being a descendant of the goddess Diana.I loved the fact a goddess was put into the mix.

I loved the fact that Grace and Alexios' had known each other for month before they give into their relationship. Alexios liked her and respected her fighting ability but he wasn't romantically interested in her at that point. Some of that had to do with his distance from others.

Day gives you a teasing glimpses into the long-suffering relationship between Alaric and Quinn. That was a major special treat in this story. Alaric is the Gregori of Atlantis, and he owns every scene he is in. I do hope Day finally decides to write his story soon. Not only can't I wake for Alaric's chance at happiness and love but the other warriors who are left to find their one true love.

Although, I had trouble getting into the mix of this book, it paints such a bigger picture and it is well worth it. Day brings more adventure, love, change and romance all to light. I am truly looking forward to getting my hands on Atlantis Redeemed and start it right away! I can't get enough of this super strong, sexy warriors of Atlantis.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

All She Wants For Christmas by Jaci Burton

I love the Holidays so I had to read this novella . Jaci Burton can sure bring the heat, but in this book Burton gives you a sweet, romantic, and a forgiving captivating story.

Riley Jensen is a Country singer that returns hometown after her publicist comes up with the taping a Christmas special there. Riley ran as fast as she could from a town after seeing her boyfriend in bed with her then best friend. She never looked back, never talked to them again until her publicist wanted footage for a bibliography of her hometown for the holidays. The one person she didn't want to see of course is the first one she sees, Ethan Kent. Ethan has a little girl, Zoey, who is a big fan of Riley's.

Ethan can not believe she came back after 10 long years. He is still in love with her, but knows it would be best to avoid that whole side of things. Then she can leave and continues her singing career. However, wanting to make his 7-year-old daughter happy, he takes her to see Riley. Will seeing each other finally offer the forgiveness they both need so desperately?

Burton takes you on an emotional but sweet holiday ride. I didn't really take to Ethan in the beginning, based on what he'd done to Riley when they were younger. But as the story progressed I was totally on board for team Ethan. After explaining he did try to find her after she ran I was puddy in his hands.

I loved Riley and the journey of life she went on. I liked the fact that something was missing in her life and that made it so real. People go through those situations everyday. I also liked the fact it was a process forgiving Ethan for what he did. Their relationship progresses slowly and perfectly.

I read this is one night because I honestly couldn't get enough of Ethan and Riley. This is such an emotional story I was in tears through half the book. Some sad tears and then the happy tears followed. Burton brings passion, love, and most of all forgiveness to a whole new level. The ending was dynamite. I wished it was longer, but I am keeping my fingers crossed that we will get a chance to see Wyatt and Brody, Ethan's brothers, in their own love stories. I think they need it.

For all those who want a romantic, holiday story this is the one for you. Although it's a short read, I would recommend this in a heart beat.

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) by Richelle Mead

ADVENTURE! SUSPENSE! SACRIFICE!

My favorite quote from the book "But I was meant for you." .

WOW! Richelle Mead's Last Sacrifice is not only breathtaking, but absolutely heart pounding. I am not even sure I could put this review into words how amazing not only this book is, but the series in a whole. Last Sacrifice gets my vote for YA of the year! Mead not only did a fantastic job of letting us into this world she has created, but ended this series with an explosion.

Rose has been locked away and waiting on word to start her trial for murdering Queen Tatiana. If Rose only new her friends are planning the great escape so they could clear her name. Rose has always protected Lissa and now its time for the roles to reverse. Breaking Rose out of prison is only the first step to clearing her name and finding out who actually killed the queen. Adventure after adventure, it just doesn't stop.

Anger, anxiety, fear, joy, love, pain, loss and healing, Mead has it all. Never a dull moment. Just when you think things are going a certain way, they change. The suspense was killing me through out the book and I never wanted to put it down. Reading this one times was not enough. I will have to revisit this series over and over.

From the first chapter you can feel what Rose was experiencing and wanted. Emotions run high in this book.  Everything that was ongoing in the series was answered which has so many pluses!! Who is the illegitimate child of Eric Dragomir, who murdered the queen, why was Rose set up, whats to become of Lissa and the question that is on everyone's mind, does Rose end up with Adrian or Dimitri. Yes, she finally ends up with someone. Of course I super happy on how the series ended.

This is definitely a book I can assure you will love and not be able to put down. It takes a lot for me to be stunned silent after reading a book, but this book did it. This book doesn't just top the charts, it reaches a whole new plateau. I wish this series didn't have to end, but all great things must come to an end at some point in time. Do not fear this wont be the last of these characters we have grown to love. Mead is currently working on the spin-off series, Bloodlines, which will be out late summer/early fall of 2011.

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Simply Irresistible by Jill Shalvis

Simply Irresistible is a fun new series that I couldn't get enough of. I was told I had to read this and that I would love it. Well, I sure did! With this being my first Jill Shalvis book I was very pleased.

Its time for Maddie to start over from the beginning. After she breaks up with an abusive boyfriend and looses her job Maddie has sworn off men. Now she is heading to Lucky Harbor where her mother has left her and her half-sisters an inn. Now its time to decide if they should sell the inn or fix it up and make it home where she can start over fresh, but convincing her sisters will be a battle she is ready to take on.

Jax meets Maddie after she first comes to town and is very interested in her, but since she was just coming out of a relationship, Jax has to take things slow with her. The good part is that Jax not only has the patience, but the determination to win her over. Not only is Jax super hot, but he wears many hats in Lucky Harbor.

I loved Maddie and Jax from when I opened the book. The chemistry between them is total hotness. The sex scenes can fog up mirrors. I liked that they both had unwanted pasts that were trying to overcome to move forward. All couples have issues and I loved that Jill Shalvis was able to make it all real and made you feel like you were living in Lucky Harbor. The supporting characters were also fun to read about. I  found myself getting caught up in the stories of Maddie's sisters Tara and Chloe. It added so much more to the story. Now to wait for their books will be torture.

The "big secret" that was being hidden was killing me. I almost had to ask someone what it was *laughs* but overall it's finally answered at the end which sets up nicely for book two, The Sweetest Thing (Tara's story) which is due out April 2011. Waiting until April will be killer, but I am positive Jill Shalvis will make the wait well worth it.

If you haven't read this fantastic romance I would advise you to head to your local bookstore and buy it. Believe me you will fall in love with Jax and Maddie. This is the perfect love story!

Friday, December 3, 2010

Hungry for You by Lynsay Sands

I never thought that Lynsay Sands could ever out do her last release, but again I was wrong. Not only did she out due her last book (and I loved that one) ,but she just flew to the top.

Alex Willan is attempting to open a new restaurant. Little did she know she would be facing some untimely events before opening night. From electrical fires, to tile issues and lets not forget the wrong paint color, Alex doesn't know if she'll open up her restaurant on time or just go flat broke. Now the chef she had just promoted is taking another job just two weeks before opening night. Now Alex is on a deadline to find a new head chef.

While speaking to her sister Sam, Alex is told Sam has a guy for her to meet. The last thing on Alex's mind is to meet a man. Alex tells Sam about all her problems and Sam just happens tell her that the man she wants her to meet is a chef from Europe.

Alex and Cale were so well written. Alex is a smart, independent woman. Cale is sexy, smart and funny.

Cale was under the impression that his aunt Marguerite wanted him to visit Canada, but her real reason for having him come from Europe was to meet Alex. She believes Alex is Cale's life mate. Cale agrees to be Alex's chef, but there is only one little problem, Cale doesn't eat. After he finds out Alex is his other half he doesn't want to leave her side. Needless to say I don't want to spoil this fantastic read for readers. Finally questions are answered from The Rogue Hunter and The Renegade Hunter and it is exciting!

You also get to hear from lots of characters from previous books. Justin Bricker is one of my favorites and you hear from him as well. The story flowed from romance to love, from trust to adventure. I couldn't put it down. I finally finished it this morning at seven and needless to say Lynsay Sands just keeps you wanting more. I love the way the humor and sarcasm was incorporated in the characters. Parts in the book will actually have you laughing out loud. Now I can't wait for the next installment in the Argeneau series ,Reluctant Vampire which is due out May 31st 2011.

I would highly recommend this book for those who know and love the Argeneau Family. If this is your first time reading about these sexy immortals you will enjoy it.

Monday, November 29, 2010

Beg Me by Shiloh Walker

I have to say I really enjoyed this book. Not only was this story intense, but it was emotional as well.

Tania Sinclair lost her husband, and she was brutally raped not long afterwords by his brother. The memories of the attack have united with her memories of her late husband. It left her unable to move on in her sexual life. Tania decides to ask her friend, Drake,who happens to be her late husband’s best friend, to help her put the past behind her by having an affair. Tania knows she’ll be safe with Drake and she trusts him to know when to stop.

Drake has always loved Tania. They had been spending a lot of time together since her husband's death and he is utterly shocked when Tania approaches him about helping her move on. He desires her desperately, and just so happens to enjoy the kind of sexual role-playing she not only wants, but is looking for.

I thought this book was so well done and Shiloh Walker did a good job of showing the issues that can arise. I loved that fact that this was Tania's personal therapy and she needed to do this to make changes in her life.
The sex scenes have a tense and dangerous edge to them that gets your heart pounding. The plot was fantastic and I absolutely loved the way their feelings were projected through out the story. Their were some strong moments that almost brought me to tears.

Overall, it was a well-written. That the sex was hot and breathtaking. I will for sure read this again. Although some people wont read this because of the rape fantasy, I believe this story was more than that. It's about taking control of ones life, love, trust and looking forward to the future.

Sunday, November 28, 2010

Atlantis Rising by Alyssa Day

A book about Warriors and Atlantis? Yes! I was jumping up and down. After reading this book I couldn't get enough and I am so glad I decided to buy the whole series at once. Yippee!

Alyssa Day brings a whole to new feel of the magical world of Atlantis. Suspenseful, action packed, fast-moving and; who can forget the romance. This is a great series and I have had on my to read list for a while. I can't believe I waited so long to start this.

These warriors from Atlantis were hot, hot, hot!! The characters were all amazing, with great and strong personalities. They all flow well together. Fell in love with every one of them.

Conlan, who is the prince of Atlantis, is coming to terms with what will be his place and rightful duties to the throne of Atlantis, but he's thrown for a loop. Riley who is a human and an empath is in some trouble. I couldn't have picked a better man to rescue Riley.

This story is packed with adventure, romance, magic, humor and who could forget the excitement! Alyssa Day gives a new exciting twist to this Alpha Male. Their is so much to Conlan and while he tries to do what is expected all he wants is his Riley. Riley is a take no s**t heroin. Spontaneous, loving, feisty and brave. Together they aren't just the perfect match ,but they make such a wonderful team.

Not only was I drawn to Conlan, but Lord Justice is on my to do list *laughs*. I mean he has blue hair! Overall I can't wait to read the next book - Atlantis Awakening to see what is in store for these Hot Warriors of Poseidon.

Holiday Bound by Beth Kery

What a steamy short Christmas read!!!! I have never read Beth Kery before and she didn't disappoint.

Angeline Kastakis is in the middle of a battle zone between her boyfriend Mitch and his son Alex. Mitch and Alex do not get a long, but when Mitch reaches out to Alex to bring his new girlfriend to Alex's resort, Alex does not know what to expect.

Angeline gets caught in a blizzard and Alex is the one that finds her in the ditch while she is on her way to the resort to meet Mitch. Not only does Alex have eyes for Angeline, but he wants her bound in his bed forever.

Kery brings the heat to melt the snow on this night when the blizzard starts. I don't think you could have asked for more from this couple. Not only was it sometimes emotional for these characters, but the way they connect was just outstanding. It was a great little treat and has opened me up for more titles by Beth Kery.

I would recommend this short read for all my Christmas ladies who wouldn't mind being bound in the dead of winter, with one really hot guy that can send heat racing through your veins. This story is currently free on amazon kindle. If you get the time its well worth checking out.

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour #1) by Olivia Cunning




Sex, Love and Rock, and did I mention hot sex? Who wouldn't want more?

Myrna Evans is a college professor who attending a conference. To her surprise she ends up running into her favorite rock band since they are staying at the same hotel.

Myrna feels an instant connection with composer, Brian Sinclair. What no one expected was that Brian would find his muse in Myrna. Can one night be enough for the both of them to fill their wild oats or will touring with the band finally get to Myrna.

After you have read so many novels some tend to get a tad on the boring side, but Backstage Pass brings in a fresh breath of air. It was different. No cowboys or bikers. It was totally rock and roll. For some reason while reading I was picturing being on the road in the late eighties and early nineties. Tour buses, groupies, and what being on tour is all about the fans, was more than described, it was brought to life. I was shocked that Myrna had such a wild side. Even with Brian is a big time rock star, he is just lovable. Myrna and Brian were a perfect match for the first book in the series.

Now not only do I want my own personal band member, I want to go on tour with these hot men. I am really looking forward to reading the next installment, Rock Hard. It made my night that it would be about lead singer, Sed Lionheart. **swoons** (Apr. 1, 2011) .

Atlantis Awakening by Alyssa Day

This is turning out not only to be an exciting series, but a fun-filled adventure.

I loved Ven. From the first page the action grabbed me along with attraction between Ven and Erin. I was sucked into Atlantis. The wit had me laughing out loud. The bond with the warriors was not only entertaining, but you can feel the depth of their feelings for each other.

Ven caught my attention in the first book with his sarcasm. Prince Vengence is Conlan's younger brother and protector. Ven has never got attached to any woman before. Well, that was until he met Erin the witch/gem-singer and they instantly became soul-melds which only happens only once in a life time. Erin is for sure his perfect match. I loved all the characters and I am really excited to find out how everyone is involved and how this story will play out.

Overall the story was an adventurous journey. Just enough adventure, romance and breath-taking emotions. Towards the end Lord Justice is missing. Will they find him? How long will it take? It's now time for me to journey back into Atlantis to find the blue haired warrior in Atlantis Unleashed.

I recommend this book and the others in this series.

Drink of Me by Jacquelyn Frank

I don't think anything I write could do this book justice. Jacquelyn Frank has created a super natural world with some of the most diverse characters I have ever seen. The story jumps out to you just from the first page. It not only left me wanting, but needing to know more about this characters and what is to become of them and their world.

Prime Reule has always been a composed and responsible when it comes to ruling his people. Until he meets  this small woman who was found lost and severely injured has no memory of who or what she is. Giving the small woman her name, Mystique. Mystique may have no memory, but she knows some important things by her instincts.

All characters were so well written. Jacquelyn Frank had them fitting the rolls perfectly. From the moment Reule and Mystique meet you can tell their relationship is heated and how they are drawn to each other.
A lot takes place in the book but they do what they have to do to find themselves in one another. And when they do give in to their desires hold on because the ride doesn't stop there. I already have a few of my favorite side characters and am anxiously awaiting to have them as lead characters. Action, emotion, and the ultimate fantasy world. With the strong romance and passion taking place between Reule and Mystique you can only loose yourself page by page.

I can't tell you enough how much I loved this new fantasy world. This book will have you turning page after page to find out what happens. If Jacquelyn Frank isn't on your reading list just yet, she should be. Book after book and she NEVER disappoints. 

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Wild Fire by Christine Feehan


This was my first Christine Feehan ever, and it was such a thrilling ride that I have added to read the rest of this series among some of her other work. Feehan makes living in the Amazon not only action packed but also sexy.

Leopard shifter Conner Vega is a leopard shifter who is part of a special group that just happens to eliminate all threats to the rain forest. On this mission Conner ends up re-meeting his mate, Isabeau Chandler. Although this isn't the first time the two have come face to face but it is the first time they are brought together after Conner's betrayal.

Conner is not only beautiful, but also very terrifying. I mean after all he is a leopard shifter. In this mission children have been kidnapped to force these tribes to move drugs through the Amazon. Conner and his men have been asked to take the operation out and rescue these children. Now that Isabeau back into Conner's  life it is time for them to give their love another chance and rekindle the passion they have had since first meeting.

Filled with passion, romance, suspense, and forgiveness. The emotions Freehan brought out were just unstoppable. Everything flowed so nicely from page to page. You not only experience what the characters are feeling, but the depth of their emotions. Of course whats a great story without a surprise, but with this book surprises helped make this a wonderful read.

Old characters are brought back in and from my understanding new ones will keep this series ongoing. Like I said this was my first book but I am in a hurry to start from the beginning of the series and I am looking forward to the next installment. I cannot wait to read about each one meeting their mates and the story of their journey to get to that wonderful place.

A great read for any shifter lover!

Monday, November 22, 2010

Rough, Raw and Ready by Lorelei James

Honestly speaking this is now one of my favorite series ever. Lorelei James pushes hot, steamy, erotic, and passion to a whole new level.

When Edgard Mancuso shows up on his old friend/ex lover's house,Trevor Glanzer is thrown for a loop. Trevor thought he would never see Edgard again so he moved on and married Chassie West. Now Chassie must decide what to do after she finds out her husband had a male lover that he has never told her about.
But, before Trevor has the chance to come clean with Chassie, she finds out. It honestly broke my heart and I felt bad for her. Just when you think she is out of the count, then she is right back in the saddle and decides to make the best of her marriage and the situation between Trevor and Ed.

All the characters are very likable and you get to see all their emotions. I thought it was great that it wasn't just another erotic romance, you got to know these characters from this book and the ones before it. Although Trevor, Edgard, and Chassie are the main story, there are side stories that keep you up with the Mckay and West families.

It went from witty to anger and steamy to emotional. You the chance to connect to all them in one way or another. It was for sure a page turner. I liked that you also got to know more about all of them then just some hot sex. Without a doubt in my mind I would recommend this book and the rest of the books in the Rough Riders series.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

The Touch of Twilight by Vicki Pettersson




This series just gets better and better. I mean who wouldn't want to be this kick-ass superhero who everyone wants to keep under wraps or better yet even destroy.

Joanna is back! She is still trying to understand her powers and find her place in the Zodiac troop. It has only been a few months since her 25th birthday and the transformation that has changed her life forever. Then next stage of the prophesy is ready to happen.The question on everyone's mind is, Will her shadow half come into power?  Joanna's past love and a personal mistakes from the second book haunt her in this book.

So many great twists, adventures and there is so much more to come. The end of this series could live on forever. The plot was well-developed, the action scenes were seriously awesome. I loved the fact that she misses her past and doesn't really want it let it go. Decisions are made on who to let go and who to give a chance to. Personally, I was in the middle of if she would choose the love of her life or give her love to another agent. And when she finally chooses it was BAME!!! I actually cried for her. Some decisions in life are never easy but just then sometimes in the end it was the better decision.

I couldn't have wanted more in a series. Life, love, romance, humor, letting go, and strength. I mean I can go on and on about this book. I couldn't put this down or any other book in the series down for that matter. This is a must read for all the woman who ever wanted to be a superhero.

City of Souls by Vicki Pettersson



The Sign of the Zodiac series is on fire. This series gets better with each book. City of Souls is action packed and full of suspense that will keep you glued to the pages and turning them faster to get to the next part. Never a dull moment.

A war is raging in Las Vegas. Lives are on the line. In this book the lines blur between good and evil, love and hate, and the chances of her escaping are slim to none. When one of the changeling is hurt, now Joanna Archer must save this young girl because if she dies, the Light will die with her.

This book kept me on the edge of my seat. To see how Jo has grown and trying to do her job, even as she struggles against the darkness within herself. The story was on the dark side but captivating. This book had me dying to know what is to become of Jo and her father, her and Warren and her love life. I didnt really like the unanswered questions I had but that just makes me more excited to hurry up and read the next installment of this fantastic series, Cheat the Grave.

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

I have to say this is one of the best YA novels I have ever read! The world Cremer has created is not only magical but gripping. I couldn't put this down.

Calla is the alpha of her Nightshade pack. They are called Guardians (both wolf and human, able to shift at will),are here protect humans. Now the time is coming for a new pack to be formed. Since she was born she knew she was destined to mate alpha Ren. Long lines of tradition has made her accept her future with the alpha but it all becomes very complicated for her when she ends up meeting Shay.

Not only is Calla drawn to him, but interacting with him is forbidden in there world. The triangle in Night Shade was very well written. Torn between two men who can make her burn and want. What is a girl to do?

This isn't just another shape shifter book or a teen love story. It about growing up, standing up for what you believe in, and finding out the real truth beyond the history of the Guardians. This book is sexy even minus the sex. It keeps you hooked from the first page.

After reading this awesome book I wanted to join Callas pack. I'm really looking forward to the next book in the series, Wolfsbane. I am utterly dying to know where Shay has been taking to, If Ren ends up with Calla, and finally the truth of the Guardians  will reviled. The release date just cant come soon enough. Like I said earlier, this is one of the best YA books I read all year and honestly you should read it too. I recommend this book to not only the YA readers but all the adults who love romance, shifters and a non stop adventure.

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

The Taste of NIght by Vicki Petterson



After reading the first book in this series I was so excited to start this one. I found a lot of mixed reviews on it but I gave it go and loved it. The Scent of Shadows was a solid start to this paranormal series, but The Taste of Night brings on a whole new roller coaster ride. Now that the characters have been introduced, I dove right into the action packed book, which The Taste of Night does right in the first chapter.

Joanna Archer's life changed forever since the night her sister died. Now she struggles to adjust to her new lifestyle and the fellow Zodiac members and try to win the war against the Shadows. In this book, Jo frequently finds herself at odds with herself and the Light side and her Shadow side. She is trying to help Light win the war over the Shadow side instead of trying to find the balance in between. The Shadows themselves want to win Joanna over to their side and if she doesn't join they will simply destroy her. I had mixed feelings about Jo in this book. She wasn't as open and you can tell she is still haunted by her past and still trying to find her place throughout this story. Jo tends to make a lot of personal and professional mistakes and tends to act in her own self interest.

The world that Vicki Pettersson has created is coming together perfectly. It was for sure a step up from the first book in the series. I found this book even more enjoyable and exciting, and I am looking forward to starting the next book in the series, The Touch of Twilight.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Sins of the Heart by Eve Silver

Sins of the Heart is the first novel I read by Eve Silver and she did an Amazing job.

Dagan is one of the Underworld’s Soul Reapers who is trying to find out who is responsible for his brother death. Roxy is sworn to protect the human race and Dagan. Joining forces is something neither of them expected.

Dagan and Roxy fit together perfectly. Their banter, flirtation, and loyalty throughout the book pushed this wonderful book into the favorites. I loved every minute of this book.

After the first chapter i quickly became addicted and couldn’t put it down. Eve Silver definitely brought the suspense, chemistry, romance and emotion out her characters.

I loved this book !! This is a must read along with her next two books in the trilogy Sins of the Soul and Sins of the Flesh.

Cheat the Grave by Vicki Petterson

After reading the first book in this series I was so excited to start this one. I found a lot of mixed reviews on it but I gave it go and loved it. The Scent of Shadows was a solid start to this paranormal series, but The Taste of Night brings on a whole new roller coaster ride. Now that the characters have been introduced, I dove right into the action packed book, which The Taste of Night does right in the first chapter.

Joanna Archer's life changed forever since the night her sister died. Now she struggles to adjust to her new lifestyle and the fellow Zodiac members and try to win the war against the Shadows. In this book, Jo frequently finds herself at odds with herself and the Light side and her Shadow side. She is trying to help Light win the war over the Shadow side instead of trying to find the balance in between. The Shadows themselves want to win Joanna over to their side and if she doesn't join they will simply destroy her. I had mixed feelings about Jo in this book. She wasn't as open and you can tell she is still haunted by her past and still trying to find her place throughout this story. Jo tends to make a lot of personal and professional mistakes and tends to act in her own self interest.

The world that Vicki Pettersson has created is coming together perfectly. It was for sure a step up from the first book in the series. I found this book even more enjoyable and exciting, and I am looking forward to starting the next book in the series, The Touch of Twilight.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Cowgirls Don't Cry by Lorelei James

This is a truly addicting series. It was kind of disappointing on how it starts off. I mean Brandt finds Jessie moving on, so to speak and asked to join. The beginning made Jessie look like she was easy when she is far from that. The story begins to unfold from chapter 1.

Brandt has always been in love with his brother's widow, but Jessie hasn't been ready to move on until now. Hit with her late husbands wild ways and a child is brought in for Jessie and Brandt to take care of for the four months while the mother is getting her life back together after getting her second DUI. Now Brandt and Jessie are not only taking care of this child, but Brandt moves in to do it. Can being to close to the one you love make the other see how right this is?

I absolutely loved Brandt. He is sweet, lovable, and just down right sexy. Jessie is strong, independent, and ready for someone who wants her. You couldn't help but enjoy this emotional ride right along side both of them. This was a more emotional book then the others have been but if you read the others you know why it had to be. I had my box of tissues right beside me but don't worry it's not all tears. This sexy cowboy can have any girl ready to saddle up and settle down. I was pleased how we got to know more about Brandt and Jessie, understand them, and yes I rooted for their happy ending.

If you liked the previous books you will love Brandt and Jessie. I am really looking forward to reading the next book in the series and dying to know who will be the lucky stars of it.

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Blood Trinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon and Dianna Love

Blood Trinity is the first in the new Belador series and introduces you to a world where there are demons and supernatural beings from different worlds walking among the humans. This book was fasted paced. I couldn't bring myself to put it down. Adventure after adventure for Evalle Kincaid. I was drawn in from the first page and tried so hard not to read it in one sitting.

Evalle Kincaid is not only a Belador she is of a mixed breed. Despite the personal risks that she faces, she is willing to save the lives of the other Beladors. Through out the book Kincaid proves herself to be honorable, brave and loyal to her Belador family.

Without telling anyone what happens, the book involves free will, enemies that have suddenly have a lot of power, and who can forget the personal rivalry that could put everyone at risk. I would have liked to see more of the romance that Sherrilyn Kenyon and Dianna Love are known for. Overall, Blood Trinity is a fantastic start to a new series. I am truly looking forward to reading more of the Belador series and about Evalle Kincaid.

If you love Sherrilyn Kenyon and Dianna Love's writing you, will love this book for sure.

"Atlanta has become the battlefield between human and demon. All her life, Evalle has walked the line between the two. Her origins unknown, she’s on a quest to learn more about her past and her future.

But when a demon claims a human and there’s no one else to blame, Evalle comes under fire. It’s no longer a question of learning about herself, it’s a question of survival. Through the underground of an alternate Atlanta where nothing is as it seems to the battleground of where her VIPER allies have become the force that is now hunting her, Evalle must prove her innocence or pay the ultimate price.

But proving her innocence is the least of her problems if she doesn’t stop the coming apocalypse. The clock is ticking and it’s about to become a lot hotter in Atlanta."

The Scent of Shadows By Vicki Pettersson

This is a new series to me, but it was totally intriguing. Giving this series a chance  was well worth it. And I wasn't disappointed. From the first page it captures your interest. Then as the story starts progressing it becomes wow. Jo hasn't had a dull moment and I loved that. She was written as strong but broken. Once her story starts to play out you can't help but want to be there for her. This is probably one of the best books I have had the pleasure to read this year.

I loved the setup of the opposing Shadow and Light zodiac teams. Lots of action, sarcastic remarks, emotional and some love. Just when you think things are heading one way , Vicki Pettersson throws you for a big loop. Two leading males come into play, but not enough romance. Some secrets are found out and it makes you want to read the next book asap. 

Joanna Archer, finds out that she is the daughter of the leader of the Shadow Zodiac, while her mother is the a star sign of the Light Zodiac. She is destined to do many things but Jo will have free will to see what side of the Zodiac she will fall on. Being Joanna is tough because she possesses special skills from both sides

For me all these little details that get revealed part by part was enough to hook me alone, but what made me purely addicted to this book was how bad I had to know what was going to happen to Jo. I couldn't put this down.

Now I am super excited to see what will happen to Joanna Archer in the next book, The Taste of Night.

"When she was sixteen, Joanna Archer was brutally assaulted and left to die in the Nevada desert.

By rights, she should be dead.

Now a photographer by day, she prowls a different Las Vegas after sunset—a grim, secret Sin City where Light battles Shadow—seeking answers to whom or what she really is . . . and revenge for the horrors she was forced to endure.

But the nightmare is just beginning—for the demons are hunting Joanna, and the powerful shadows want her for their own . . . "

Thursday, November 4, 2010

One Wild Wedding Night by Leslie Kelly

Ok, I confess... I mostly wanted to read this book for the continued story of Bridget Donahue, from the book Overexposed. Although I enjoyed the short story, it still didn't tell me what happened and left it hanging. The rest of the little stories were a fun read. This take place after Nick and Izzy's wedding night. You get a look at what these five women will encounter. I simply liked the fact that they were all tied together. I was looking for how some of these stories would end or were they the beginning to their own books I am still not clear on this. The short stories were hot, but left me wanting more. So, now I am on to looking for the individual books of these Five women so I can maybe get some answers.

"This is one super-sexy wedding night these five women will never forget! Meet the lucky bridesmaids:

A totally hot FBI agent offers his full-body protection to very willing witness Bridget Donahue….

Stripper Leah Muldoon bares it all for a sexy stranger in a limo, much to their mutual satisfaction!

Wild big-city attorney Mia Natale is in for the best sex of her life. But who is that other guy?

When dancer Vanessa McKee unexpectedly sees a man from her past, they rediscover their insatiable lust!

A breathless night in the arms of a seductive European

lover should definitely spice up Gloria Santori's marriage…."

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Overexposed by Leslie Kelly

This was a great little read. I really enjoyed the characters.

"Isabella Natale is living a double life. By day she turns out desserts in the family bakery. But at night she transforms into The Crimson Rose, Chicago's hottest exotic dancer, an enigmatic siren whose velvet mask and G-string drive men wild. Nobody knows about her secret—not even Nick Santori, the strip club's hot new bodyguard…and her first crush. He'd always treated little "Izzy" as just another sweet kid. But there's nothing sweet about his sizzling reaction to Rose….

So what's a girl to do but show the man of her dreams that while it's okay to look, it's much better to touch?"

I loved the way Isabella was written. She was strong, independent, and family oriented. Nick being the man she has always loved has his own trials and tribulations to get passed, but Izzy is all grown up and is ready to have something more and oh boy does Nick get more then he asked for. You got the chance to know their family and friends which made it more personal for me. There is also a side story that I was quickly involved in and dying to know what happens.

I believe their will be a next book to catch you up on Izzy and Nick. Also, I'm looking forward to the next couple of stories about the side characters that were mentioned. I mean who doesn't like happy endings?

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Ecstasy in Darknes by Gena Showalter




This was my first book in the Alien Huntress series, and I have to say I was so pleased I wasn't lost. It was a wonderful treat for me. A strong, sexy Alpha hero who wants the strong, independent heroine with every bone in his body. While not knowing where things are going with them takes this book on a joyride. To top it all off , the love scenes were so steamy.

Ava Sans and Noelle Tremain are the best of friends who are trying to move up in the ranks of Alien Investigation Removal (AIR). Finally they are called in to take down the one and only Victor McKell. They think McKell is unstable and psychotic. Now the question is, are these two trainees ready to take down the former leader of a vampire army?

Ava ends up teasing and taunting McKell and boy is she surprised when he arrives on her doorstep and wants to help Ava and AIR apprehend the alien queen who is running around passing along a disease and causes the infected to crave eating flesh. Getting a taste of Ava's blood wasn't part of the plan, but when McKell does and finds out Ava is his mate he doesn't want to let her out of his sight.

Ecstasy in Darkness is filled with not only witty comments but tenderness, love, friendship and who can forget the steamy scenes that can fog up anyone's glasses. I couldn’t get enough of McKell! He was possessive , yet only had a softer side for his Ava. Ava was a bit too much to handle in certain parts. I mean who wouldn't want this Alpha male taking over all you senses?

Ecstasy in Darkness is a must read! I'm really excited to start from the beginning and catch up on this series, but I am also looking forward to reading more of this series. So many unanswered questions that I am super excited to have answered.

Crave by J.R. Ward

I am a big fan of J.R. Ward and waiting for this book was painful. Finally read it and it blew my mind. It was different. Started out on the slow side but once it started going, I couldn't put it down. Not only was it full of action, but the characters grow throughout the book. I liked that we got a chance to dip into some new characters and the return of some from the first book, Covet.

This book continues the story of Jim Heron who is tasked with coming in to a person's life when they're at a crossroads and helping them choose the right path. The decision of these seven people will decide if the souls of everyone on Earth (and those who've passed on) will belong to Heaven or Hell.

The attraction between Issac and Grier is HOT, there's just something that was missing that I just couldn't put my finger on. Issac was a true southern gentlemen when it came to Grier. It was really heart melting when he picks up her purse and cleans it for her. I mean who wouldn't want a man who melts your heart just by doing the most simplest task. Isaac and Grier's relationship progressed really quickly, I still thought they were the perfect match for each other.

I really like this series and I am hoping it only gets better. I am curious to see who Jim will help save next.

Rough, Raw and Ready by Lorelei James

Honestly speaking this is now one of my favorite series ever. Lorelei James pushes hot, steamy, erotic, and passion to a whole new level.

When Edgard Mancuso shows up on his old friend/ex lover's house,Trevor Glanzer is thrown for a loop. Trevor thought he would never see Edgard again so he moved on and married Chassie West. Now Chassie must decide what to do after she finds out her husband had a male lover that he has never told her about.
But, before Trevor has the chance to come clean with Chassie, she finds out. It honestly broke my heart and I felt bad for her. Just when you think she is out of the count, then she is right back in the saddle and decides to make the best of her marriage and the situation between Trevor and Ed.

All the characters are very likable and you get to see all their emotions. I thought it was great that it wasn't just another erotic romance, you got to know these characters from this book and the ones before it. Although Trevor, Edgard, and Chassie are the main story, there are side stories that keep you up with the Mckay and West families.

It went from witty to anger and steamy to emotional. You the chance to connect to all them in one way or another. It was for sure a page turner. I liked that you also got to know more about all of them then just some hot sex. Without a doubt in my mind I would recommend this book and the rest of the books in the Rough Riders series.

Water Bound by Christine Feehan

This is my first Christine Feehan book ever and I fell in love. It was different, magical, and just enough romance to curl your toes. This is now one of my favorite books!!!

It makes you look at autism in a different light. Rikki was such an amazing female. Nit only strong, but gifted with the element of water. You could feel the affinity and love of water that Rikki felt. The water became her safe haven. You can't help to fall in love with her.

Lev had a past as a cold-blooded killer, and was a dangerous man, but she looked into his heart and saw the man he wanted to be. She was never afraid of him and always stood her ground. Some people deserve a second chance at life and with that she gave it to Lev.

Rikki and Lev found that connection that was beyond belief. The way their connection grows along with trust, faith, and love it is just amazing. Just when you think Rikki will never give in, she lets herself get lost in him. The way they can look in each others eyes and find that peace is what ever girls dreams of.

Lev didn't try to change Rikki to fit him, he changed himself to fit her and her life. Finding that out was sweet, settling and romantic. She needed constancy and routine, and he understood that and was able to work with it. On his part he gave her the emotional bond that she never got. Lev is the dangerous man but Rikki isn't scared. She feels safe and protected. He's also a gentle, loving man with her. Who wouldn't want Lev as their love.

I am really looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Spirit Bound. I can only see this series getting better and better.

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Miss Firecracker By Lorelei James

I love the McKay and West men but I was extremely interested in Blake. I finally get to read his story and it wasn't what I thought it would be.

"She’s the match, he’s the fuse…an explosive combination

One year ago Willow Gregory entered the Miss Firecracker contest on a dare—and ended up with the crown. As a working carpenter, she’s not exactly the tears-and-tiara type, and after a year of walking the straight and narrow she’s ready to cut loose.

Waking up in a sexy stranger’s bed with no memory of the havoc she wreaked the night before wasn’t quite what she had in mind. Nor was agreeing to his mandate—work for him at the tavern until she repays the damage. Or go to jail.

Blake West thinks he could possibly be the only man alive who could say no to a drunken, horny, naked beauty queen. There’s something about the former Miss Firecracker that makes him want to blow his Mr. Nice Guy persona all to hell.

It helps that Willow is ready to dive headfirst into a no-heartstrings-attached affair. Which fits in perfectly with Blake’s temporary gig managing his friend’s bar.

Every grinding kiss, every stolen touch leads to another…until a harmless little white lie becomes the detonator that could explode their chances at a happily ever after. "

Willow and Blake were utterly fantastic together. With them you already knew the out come and it would be easy. I wasn't a fan of that. Women make this men work for it. It starts out when Willow awakes in a strangers bed, but doesn't give you the insight to what had happened the night before until the story unfolds and things are explained. I would have loved to read what actually happened without other people filling in the blanks for Willow.

I also thought the story was also way too short. I mean when things are just coming into focus the story ends. Does Blake end up getting the girl? Well, of course but after he is not honest with her she gives into him. Then the end. Although, Blake is my favorite West, I wasn't to thrilled about this book all in all. I am hoping this series can pick back up and give me so much more of these hot cowboys.

Unlaced By Jaci Burton, Joey W. Hill, Denise Rossetti And Jasmine Haynes

Hot, Steamy, Sexy and Adventures is the best way to describe Unlaced. I was on the edge of my seat while involved deep in this steamy treat!

The stories were mostly about everyday people living their lives until some hot guy takes that over. I liked the fact these woman were strong, independent, and most of all memorizing. Once they knew what they wanted they took control from there. I loved that fact these stories weren't about younger woman. They are older, wiser, and can still turn up the damn heat for their men. I am for sure interested in the other authors who wrote in this book and will have to check them out. Over all it was for sure a steamy read.

Rode Hard, Put Up Wet by Lorelei James

 
This one I had a tough time getting into. I wasn't sure why, but it took me a lot longer then the other books.All in all Lorelei James knows how to make a scene not only steamy but passion filled. Its not just raw passion, but emotions are attached to these characters which makes it a great read. 

Gemma is a widow who happens to own a ranch in Wyoming. Cash has been in love with her for years, but she was not interested. Finally she realizes she should give it a shot, I mean what could happen?. She offers him a job as foreman on her ranch. He agrees but only if it includes being in Gemma's bed. Filled with lots of hot sex. While a teenager Cash gets a woman pregnant, agree they shouldn't be married and decide to go their separate ways. Cash now gets to spend time with his 22-year-old daughter Macie. Macie comes to live on the ranch with Gemma and Cash. She’s an excellent cook and gets a job. Macie also falls in love with Carter, who is working on the ranch for the summer. Carter is an artist and wants to sculpt and paint Macie. They too have a lot of  hot sex. It made a very good side story that I caught up right in.

I’m not sure how I feel about this whole story. I think I enjoyed Carter and Macie's story much more and they weren't the main characters.  The steamy scenes were better than I thought they would be from when the book started. I think I wasn’t emotionally pulled in as much as I wanted to be like the other stories. It was still good, but it just didn't grab me like I was expecting. If your looking for a good erotic romance series I suggest you read this entire series. Lorelei James does not disappoint. It will have you panting and drooling over some of the hottest cowboys.


Since I have read all of the books in the series up to date I am dying to see who will be next in this fabulous series to have their own story.

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Slow Hands by Leslie Kelly

This happened to be my first book by Leslie Kelly and I actually enjoyed it. I am looking forward to reading more of this series in the future.

Mandy Turner is not only a strong business woman but unlucky in the love department. Her older sister, Tabitha, doesn't want her fathers new wife to cheat on him, so she ends up with this master plan for Mandy to buy the guy her stepmother was supposed to buy at this charity bachelor auction. Little does Mandy know that her desires and heart will be thrown for a loop.

Jake Wallace is just a simple paramedic that is helping his chiefs wife with auctioning off himself to the highest bidder for the children fund. While backstage he sees Mandy and is utterly bewildered by her. Now can Jake bring down the walls that Mandy has put up or is he giving up the woman he has longed for..

It's an overly short book but interesting it was. It was a breath of fresh air to read about something totally different then what I am used to reading about. I loved that Mandy was strong, independent, caring and loving at times. Although she puts up this hard persona she is lovable and exciting. Jake, well, what can I say? He's a dream guy. He's not on;y patient, but funny, considerate, and at many times the romantic. It's just too bad Jake doesn't have any brothers but hey a girl can dream, right?

Saturday, October 16, 2010

All Jacked Up by Lorelei James Review




I loved this book to pieces and to be honest I couldn't wait to read it.

"Pulling off the ultimate con…if they can keep from pulling off their clothes.

Keely McKay knows Jack—and Jack Donohue is a certified pain in her Wranglers. The lone girl in the prolific McKay family, Keely needs another man giving her orders like she needs a hole in her boot. What she does need is a restoration specialist so she can open her physical therapy clinic—and prove she’s left her wild-child days behind. That means dealing with buttoned-down, uptight Jack.

Jack is this close to securing a career make-or-break project, until he learns his lack of marital status puts him out of contention. When the notoriously hot-tempered and hot-bodied Keely begs him for help, he proposes a crazy idea. He’ll oversee her project—if she acts the part of his loving fiancĂ©e.

Their sizzling lust makes it all too easy to go from butting heads to knocking boots—but outside the bedroom they’re as mismatched as ever. The McKays remind Jack of the humble upbringing he left behind, and cowgirl Keely feels she doesn’t measure up to Jack’s big-city lifestyle.

When the dust settles, Jack and Keely must face the fact they’re not fooling anyone but themselves—or they’ll risk losing the real deal."

Keely is used to being queen bee in the family, but I have to say she met her match in this book. Jack is not only her match but has secretly wanted Keely all along. Going from not being able to stand each other to not being able to get enough from each other was a great story line. I loved how her family stood by her in making this choices and when her brothers happen to take matters in their hands when they think their baby sister has been hurt.

Lorelei James filled this book with not only romance, love, and devotion but also tons of witty comments. I was laughing at some of the things Keely said to Jack and his comebacks were off the charts amusing. Finding out as the series goes on about the prior characters is not only interesting but insightful. Who wouldn't want to find out more about the Mckay Family and what they have been up to.


If you haven’t read any of the previous Rough Riders series, I highly recommend them. Regardless if you read them in order or out-of-order it's not hard to keep up with these cowboys/ cowgirls and how they finally get tamed. This was a great read. It is for sure rereading material. Now off to get started on Raising Kane.

Raising Kane by Lorelei James

Lorelei James is quickly topping the charts of one of my favorite authors. Not only was Raising Kane a great treat it was emotional.

"She surrendered the reins. Now he’s raising the stakes

When a patch of ice sends attorney Ginger Paulson head-over-high-heels down a flight of stairs, she has no one to care for her young son and her invalid father. Until lethally sexy Kane McKay shows up at the hospital, determined to prove his cowboy chivalry. Past experience has inoculated her against take-charge men, but even Ginger isn’t immune to Kane’s invasive charm and Built Ford Tough body.

For two years rancher Kane McKay has followed the Little Buddies mentoring program’s cardinal rule—hands off his Little Buddy Hayden’s mama. But one look at Ginger’s bruised body and Kane is through watching the stubborn woman take care of everyone but herself. The feisty, curvy redhead needs his help, and he’ll give her the hands-on type whether she likes it or not.

After Kane throws out doctor’s orders and issues his own demands—her full sexual submission—Ginger realizes Kane’s caring nature extends beyond just fulfilling her physical needs.

Can the former hell-raiser convince the gun-shy single mom to look beyond his past…toward a shared future?"

It was about time sexy cowboy Kane stopped his wild ways and was in it to win not only Ginger but her love. From reading the previous books in the series Kane was outta control, to see him serious and in a different light was well different. Kane not only wants Ginger but wants a family.

Absolutely loved how the story came together and turned out. Not only did Kane give his all to Ginger but her family. He fit right in and made such an impact on them. Love, love, love Kane. Lorelei James wrote him perfect. I liked the fact that even in this book you could see him growing not just as a person but also a provider to prove what he wants and to make it all happen.

This series is moving up to one of my favorite series. Then to find out there are more McKay's to read about is a major plus. Now that I am caught up on this deliciously hot series I can look forward to when Cowgirls Don't Cry is finally released. I mean who doesn't wanna ride a cowboy?

Branded as Trouble


This quickly became one of my favorites in the series just a few chapters in to it. This book had a lot more laughs than the others in the series.

"It’s hard to trust the future when you’ve been branded by the past.

As a walking advertisement for the tattoo shop she’s set up in a small Wyoming town, India Ellison is well acquainted with preconceived notions. Despite the odd looks and off-color comments about her off-color hair, life is good. She’s clean and sober, dotes on her sister’s kids and, best of all, spends most of her free time with her best buddy, cowboy Colt McKay.

Reformed bad boy Colt never expected three years of sobriety to lead to three years of abstinence. Curbing his craving for booze and random sexual encounters is nothing compared to the ever-increasing craving for his hot-tempered, hot-bodied best friend, India. Too bad she’s his A.A. sponsor. Too bad she hasn’t a clue that Colt’s been head-over-bootheels in love with her from day one.

After an unexpected, steamy interlude, all India can think about is riding the sexy cowboy instead of her motorcycle, even when Colt is determined to show her a slower ride is worth the wait.

Or are they risking their friendship for a fling that could burn them both? "

Colt McKay is not only a sexy cowboy but he has this other caring side to him that I just fell in love with. I loved the interactions with Colt and his family. Neither Colt or Indy ever had a real relationship, but finding it out together was a journey all in its self. Laughter, tears, and determination cover this story. Taking time for yourselves and getting to the next level is a big step.

I was extremely happy for Colt staying sober through the hard times just in this story that threw him for a loop. Finally the family's so-called mess up finds his way and makes peace with his family. This story just had more of a real feel to it than most

I'm happy to have run across this series. At first I wasn't so sure but in reading about this family and how they all have something to prove to others and themselves was an amazing ride. Now on to the next McKay in Shoulda Been A Cowboy.

Friday, October 15, 2010

Riding Wild by Jaci Burton



I normally can't stand reading a series out-of-order because some plots are hard to follow ,but with Jaci Burton it was so easy to keep up with the sexy men of the Wild Riders.

Riding Wild was a good romance that included suspense and action. The book was fast paced and quick to read.When private investigator Lily West is hired to test the security of a museum, she is stunned to see her former high school boyfriend, Mac Canfield ride up on a motorcycle, break in to the museum, and steal an artifact. Now Mac is taking Lily along for the ride to get to the bottom of who really wants this vial. Lily allies herself with the Wild Riders and helps them to unravel and contain the circumstances surrounding the dangerous vial. Together again after ten years, Lily and Mac must also confront the feelings that they still have for one another.

This was a very adventurous book. The suspense portion made the book interesting and fast-moving. Riding Wild was very sensual, but also included a passionate romance. I look forward to reading more of Jaci Burton in the future.

Tainted by Julie Kenner

When i first saw this book I was so unsure if I could get sucked into ,but that just proved me wrong because getting sucked in wasn't the problem. The problem was putting the book down.

Lily Carlyle has died protecting her sister. Now given a second chance of life. Lily can earn her way into Paradise by becoming an assassin for the forces of good. It's the job Lily believes she can do, but she doesn't realize that she may not be able to get out. Lily has come choices to make which will she choose?


My Thoughts:

From the beginning i was really curious how this book would play out. Lily is strong and doesn't pretend to be Lily White. Since she has died protecting her sister she was given a second chance and now is making the best of the choices. Lily ends up going through some changes and getting used to this new life she was given. Now she is an assassin fighting against demons from the dark side. The book has a lot of action that made it a suspenseful read. I found myself questioning other characters in the story and wondering what was true or not because something was off. Towards the end of the book everything Lily thinks turns out to be wrong and throws you for a nail bitter loop.

I am looking forward to continuing the series for sure and so glad I decided to get this book after all. I would recommend this book to all urban fantasy fans.This might be my first Julie Kenner book, but she has gained a new fan. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series Torn.