Sunday, March 27, 2011

The Sweetest Thing by Jill Shalvis and **GIVEAWAY**

A Lucky Harbor Novel
Book Two
Grand Central
April 2011
ISBN 978-0446571623 

Received Book from publisher for review.

"Tara has a thousand good reasons not to return to the little coastal town of Lucky Harbor, Washington. Yet with her life doing a major crash-and-burn, anywhere away from her unfulfilled dreams will do. As Tara helps her two sisters get their newly-renovated inn up and running, she finally has a chance to get things under control and come up with a new plan for her life.

But sexy Ford Walker has his own ideas, such as keeping Tara hot, bothered . . . and in his bed. And when her ex wants Tara back, three is a crowd she can’t control—especially when her deepest secret reappears out of the blue. Now Tara must confront her past and discover what she really wants. If she’s lucky, she might just find that everything her heart desires is right here in Lucky Harbor."


Tara Daniels has finally settled into Lucky Harbor six months after returning. Even though she was thrown into meeting her other two sisters, they are determined to make this Bed & Breakfast work where they can live and and work together. Ford Walker made a career being a winning Sailor. Has has the talent to take on anything he wishes, but he wants to stay in Lucky Harbor. The heat between him and Tara is still very much alive as it was 17 years ago. Convincing Tara wont be a walk in the park and is much easier said than done.

When Tara’s ex-husband shows up in town claiming he wants her back, she no longer has one man trying to win her heart back but two. Can true love conquer all? .

In the first book,
Simply Irresistible, I wasn't a big fan of Tara, but towards the end I was hooked. She had a past that she was still hiding. Tara is a difficult character to like because she can be bossy, controlling, a tad pushy and wants everything to be in order. Ford is messy and tends to embrace the day for what it is. Total opposites attract, right?!

Oh yes, I enjoyed Ford very much. This green eyed sailor will grab you hook, line, and sinker. Actually, I mostly enjoyed their team work in trying to solve some past and present issues with their lives. They had to learn to trust each other and realized that they both bring something special to each other.

I absolutely loved this book. Jill Shalvis brings an entertaining spin to Lucky Harbor. I have never laughed and cried so much in a book before. Ford will having you swooning and sighing all over the place. You get a chance to feel what Tara and Ford are feeling from the moment you open the book. Not only do you wonder what will happen in the long run, but a surprise is thrown in that will keep you flipping the pages faster to get to the outcome.To be honest, I still haven't had enough of Ford and Tara.

One thing I know for sure, Jill Shalvis never disappoints. She brings you a hot, sweet, fun, and romantic story. I really don't think it gets any better then this. Shalvis is simply irresistible and original. All in all, I really enjoyed this book and the ending left the biggest smile on my face. I truly hope it will leave one on yours as well. 

I'm giving The Sweetest Thing 5 Stars

 I'm curious to see what will happen in book 3 of the series Head Over Heels (November 2011)


Thanks to the wonderful folks at Grand Central Publishing, I am able to giveaway 3 copies of The Sweetest Thing to 3 lucky Followers! Follow the instructions below to enter:
  • You must be a follower of my blog, Lushbookreviewss!
  • Leave a comment with your email address so I will be able to contact you if you should win
  • Giveaway is open ONLY to followers in the U.S. and Canada.
  • No P.O. Boxes please.
    Please include email in comment if you want to enter giveaway. Giveaway will end on 4/2/11 at 12 pm. Winner will contacted via email and their name posted on the blog the same day. Please remember your copy will be sent out by Grand Central Publishing so please give the book ample time to get there.

    Good Luck!!!!!

    Saturday, March 26, 2011

    What a crazy Month

    I don't know about everyone else but this month I totally slacked on posts. I am hoping April will be a better month all in all. For the last few days of March I will try and step it up :) 

    I hope everyone has a great end of the month and don't forget to sign up for the Easter Hop...Add the button and publish your post on the hop. If you have a problem remembering like i do (lol) schedule your blog post before then. I am so excited to see what everyone is doing. Also don't forget to tell your friends. The Hop is open to ALL bloggers and Authors who would like to participate in meeting new book lovers and Authors.

    Please find the button below to add to your page so they know you are in the Hop.

    Easter Hoppin Blog Hop

    <a href="" target="_blank"><img border="0" alt="Easter Hoppin Blog Hop" src="" /></a>

    Have a fabulous weekend everyone :) 

    Monday, March 21, 2011

    Easter Hoppin Blog Hop....

    Easter Hoppin Blog Hop
    April 15th - 17th

    Hosted by Danielle of Lush Book Reviews


    What - Easter Hoppin Blog Hop Giveaways
    When -  12:01 AM April 15th until 11:59 PM April 17th
    Where - All around the blogging world!

    These dates were choosen because we did not want to take time away from your family and other things going on easter weekend

    How this will work:

    ~Each blog participating is hosting a giveaway of their own. The spending maximum should be around $20, and your giveaway can be anything you would like. Books, bookmarks , swag, coffees, teas, hand made crafts, anything you would like.

    ~All blogs participating in the Easter Hoppin Blog Hop Giveaways will be linked up through the linky below.Then you can just copy the code from the below linky and add it to your giveaway post. All blogs will be linked together from this automatically on each blog for the Easter Hoppin Blog Hop Giveaways.

    ~Please keep the steps to enter your giveaway as simple as possible. The long lists of many different things followers can do to earn extra entries tends to scare people off.

    ~Please help spread the word. Feel free to copy this post, or write a post of your own. The more blogs participating the better! It will mean more visitors and new followers for your blog. We have created a Easter Hoppin button and have added it below for you to paste it everywhere!

    ~Giveaways can be open to ship anywhere you would like

    ~If you have any Questions please email Danielle: dhester23 AT yahoo DOT com

    ~Please create your Easter Hoppin Blog Hop Giveaway post before the giveaway starts. Set it to post at 12:01 AM on Friday April 15th.

    Easter Hoppin Blog Hop Sign Up
    To sign up please add your name and where you are willing to ship to the linky below
    The Last Day to sign up is Tuesday April 12th .

    Don't forget to grab the Easter Hoppin Blog Hop Giveaway button


    In the Link Below Please include
    ~ Your Blog Name
    ~ Your Blog Link
    ~ Where you will ship to
     ( exp: US only, or World Wide )

    Saturday, March 12, 2011

    Welcome Katy Walters

    Please welcome Author Katy Walters!! Welcome Katy!! I am so glad to have you here today. 

     Hi Katy!! Why don't you tell us a little bit about yourself?

    I live  on the South Coast of England with my husband  and golden retriever Lily.  I started off as a singer, studying opera but going into cabaret.  It meant a lot of touring and traveling abroad but I missed my boyfriend terribly.  So I I went back studying and obtained degrees in psychology, philosophy, religion and mysticism.  It became  my life’s passion.  Over the years, whilst treating people I would sometimes use creative writing as a cathartic technique, where they would write down their fears, their life history and so on. Gradually I became very involved and immersed and began writing myself. So the clients really helped me to begin writing again. 

    WOW!!! When did you know you really wanted to be a writer?
    Way back in my childhood. I have always written.  I used to write fairy stories for my sister when we were children and she was in a sanatorium for T.B almost every winter.   Throughout my studies and career I would always scribble away at night or on holiday. 
    Do you actually write full time or do you something else as well?
    Yes and have done so for the past six years. 

    That's great!!Why don't you tell everyone about your upcoming release?
    I am so excited about this.  This is a thriller with  romance and science fiction interwoven along with prehistoric beliefs and sexual rituals.  In 2065 the bodies of young women are found covered in putrefying snakes with an ancient relic wedged beneath their feet. A note is also left telling the police that other women have been abducted. The police are horrified but also puzzled as to why are some of the young women are murdered whilst others are abducted?
     The hero, Ben Tobin, a Super Cop is an enigma, his identity known only to the few.  He is working undercover for MI8 who exact a terrible price from him - perfection.  Any defects physical or mental spell liquidation. To his horror he develops a phobia of the snakes involved in these grisly murders.  He dare not let MI8 find out.  Desperate he turns to Dr. Lucy Roberts, a rebel in her own field of psychology.  He has to take the chance she will not report him. On finding out his true identity Lucy is repulsed and reluctant to treat him. Ben pleads with her, explaining that he suspects the abducted women are being forced to become sacred prostitutes, sexual slaves in the rituals of a sinister snake cult that follow a prehistoric Goddess.  Lucy relents and they also join forces to solve the secret of the relic which could lead Ben to the cult.  In their fight to save the women, they are drawn into a love-hate relationship. The chase takes them to the dawn of civilization – to the root of Ben’s phobias and a clue to the whereabouts of the victims. 

    WOW! Sounds so different and interesting. I cant wait to get my hands finally on it! When is the release date?

    July 4th, 2011

    How did you come up for the idea of this book?
    The idea came from my work. As a psychologist I treated people for neuroses and phobias.  Phobias can be shocking, destroying  a person’s life, their relationships, careers and self-confidence.  I did initially think of writing up fictitious cases based loosely on the conditions I treated, but found that just basing it solely on clients and treatments  it became quite repetitive – it just didn’t bite.    I then hit on the idea of a policeman having a phobia – the flawed hero.    As I have a fear of snakes, I wondered how he would cope if he had to work with the snakes in a murder investigation.  It developed from there. 
    Can you tell us a little bit about the hero and heroine? You have me so curious!!

     Ben Tobin is an enigma and his identity is revealed in the fourth and fifths when he is interviewed by Lucy..  He is fighting for the freedom to live and love – to be able to reveal his true identity and be accepted for what he is.  When meeting Lucy, because of what he is, Ben’s personality is almost cold, distant, his whole life is centered around bringing justice to his victims. Sexually he is driven only by lust but yearns to find out what love is. Lucy is the key to  Ben developing beyond what and who he is.
    Lucy is a wounded physician. Carl Jung did claim that only the wounded can truly help the suffering.  Lucy is highly sexual, vulnerable yet can be feisty.  At one point Ben thinks she is as mean as her cat. Although repulsed with what Ben truly is, she is smitten, desiring him on sight, falling for his dark hair, sculpted body and startling eyes. During  their stormy relationship Lucy unfolds to Ben that she was the victim of violence.  This holds her back from entering into any full relationship.  It is through Ben that she finds release. 

    Yay! I really can't wait to read it. I am so happy for you! I know you mentioned there will be a book 2 & 3... How excited are you?
    Very. Already I have the ideas for the next two books and can’t wait to get started on them.  

    Well you go get started on those :) Thanks so much for coming by. I really do hope you stop by again. I had fun. 

    Thursday, March 10, 2011

    Animal Magnetism (Animal #1) by Jill Shalvis

    I have never had many favorite authors, but I have to say Jill Shalvis is truly one of my favorite. She never fails to make me laugh, cry and drool in every book she writes. For some reason not only does she always write the perfect romance but she always has the best alpha males. Ever.

    "Co-owner of the town's only kennel, Lilah Young has lived in Sunshine, Idaho, all her life. Pilot-for-hire Brady Miller is just passing through. But he soon has Lilah abandoning her instincts and giving in to a primal desire. It's Brady's nature to resist being tied down, but there's something about Lilah and her menagerie that keeps him coming back for more."

    Lilah Young is the owner of a kennel and she is  having trouble keeping the kennel a float. She also rescues strays and is taking classes to finish her degree in veterinary science.                                                                                 
                                                                                                  Buy on Amazon
                                                                                                  Buy at Borders

    Brady Miller has been in special forces for many years. Now he is a pilot for hire and decides to take a month off to help out his brothers, Adam and Dell. They have a used helicopter they want Brady to repair and fly, but that's that not all they want, they also want him to live there and work with them.

    Brady's truck is rear- ended by Lilah jeep. *oops*  The attraction immediate, but can Brady resist Lilah charm? Maybe convince him to stay around?

    Jill Shalvis brings you a funny and  endearing novel. Animal Magnetism is not only fun but warm. I absolutely loved it. I think Jill brings a special magic to her books that you get attached and just as invested to all her characters.

    The characters were all very well written and I loved how each and everyone of them flowed and interacted so well together. Lilah eats junk food and swears, but its is a guarantee you will fall in love with her. Brady is a loner, and a sexy as hell alpha male. *fans self*  They are really actually perfect for each other. *sigh, I totally wanted Brady*  Even the side characters captured my interest in so many ways. I am super excited to get to read about Dell and Adam and what will be in store for these two hot guys.

    One of my favorite parts of the story is when he get twinkles. It just captures your heart. When Brady takes care of him made it made me laugh and want to help him figure it all out. Totally cute!

    The plot was more then interesting, it was unique. I couldn't find it in myself to actually put this book down. Not that I could ever put down a Jill Shalvis book. Oh no no no I have to finish asap. She just has a way about her that the story can flow so well. I loved the whole animal spin and it wasn't only because I love all animals but I loved how she incorporated other animals who you never think as pets that also need some tlc.  

    One thing I know for sure is that Shalvis never disappoints me. Ever. Her writing is not only unique, but her trilogies are fun, exciting, romantic, and the men are always swoon worthy. If you want a cute, romantic story this would be the book for you. I cant wait now until Animal Attraction, which is due out in October 2011. Get ready ladies I think this will be the year of Jill Shalvis and a few other new releases to get ready for. *fan girl scream*